Tuesday, April 5, 2011

Four HU alums named White House Fellowship Program Finalists

Four HU alums named White House Fellowship Program Finalists

The White House Fellowship Program is a very competitive program that draws applicants from all over the nation. The Fellowship offers exceptional young men and women first-hand experience working at the highest levels of the federal government.

More than 1,000 people applied this year and 11-19 will be awarded the Fellowships. Of the 120 regional finalists, four are Hampton University alumni.  Myles Caggins ’96, Sabin Duncan ’96 & ’97, Theodore Johnson ’09 and Kendra Taylor ’99 are all a step closer to becoming Fellows.

Individuals chosen to be White House Fellows are placed in the offices of cabinet secretaries, senior White House staff, and other high-level executive branch officials. As part of their education program, Fellows regularly meet in roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors and travel domestically and internationally to study U.S. policy in action. Fellowships are awarded on a strictly non-partisan basis.

Distinguished civic, community, and business leaders from around the country will interview the candidates and recommend the most qualified to meet with the President’s Commission on White House Fellowships in Washington D.C. this summer.

To learn more about the White House Fellowship Program visit http://www.whitehouse.gov/about/fellows.

No comments:

Post a Comment